The Institute for Human Continuity is real?

I was reading an article from LiveScience about Sony's new marketing ploy for their movie 2012. The author thinks that they've gone too far. Sony has set up a viral site, http://www.instituteforhumancontinuity.org/, that basically sets the premise for the movie. Apparently, some guy from CalTech (how the hell did he get in there?) had a hard time figuring out it was a hoax. I love the fact that there are people out there who can are dumb enough to actually think the site is real. A quote from the LiveScience article: "..a site that is so cleverly designed, an unsuspecting person who doesn't recognize the actors on the page might think the IHC is real, that the end is near, and that buying a ticket (to somewhere, on something, who knows?) is the only hope of survival." Right on the the front page you see this on the bottom:

IHC Institute of Human Continuity

Created by Sony and a bunch of ads for the 2012 movie.. so inconspicuous! If you actually navigate around the site at all, it is so blatantly obvious you would have to be incredibly gullible or incredibly drunk to even remotely think the IHC is real. Take look at the staff.. do you think a real company would use this as a staff picture?
IHC staff

Let's get serious here people.